In Oklahoma, drivers who operate Class A, B, or C commercial vehicles are required to possess a valid Commercial Driver License (CDL). Single and combination vehicles that exceed a gross weight of 26,000 pounds, school buses, passenger vehicles transporting 16 or more people, or vehicles carrying hazardous materials must only be legally operated by drivers with a CDL license. If you are interested in expanding your career opportunities in the Sooner State, it is highly recommended you follow this step-by-step guide for receiving a CDL license in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma CDL License Requirements
Before applying for the CDL license, stop by a local Oklahoma Department of Safety Office to receive the Commercial Driver’s Manual or access it online. In this manual, you can find all of the essential information that you need to know about qualification requirements and testing procedures. In order to become a licensed commercial driver in Oklahoma, drivers must be at least 18 years old for intrastate travel within the state’s borders or 21 years old for interstate travel to other states. When applying for the CDL, you will need to present proper identification in the form of a valid driver’s license, birth certificate, U.S. passport, or Active Duty Military Identification card.
To be an eligible candidate for a Commercial Driver License in Oklahoma, you must also have a spotless driving record. If you are interested in receiving the endorsement for operating vehicles that carrying hazardous materials, you will also have to submit to a background check by the TSA and FBI, as well as provide fingerprints. Drivers that are found to have previous convictions, such as terrorism, murder, kidnapping, rape, robbery, or arson, will be automatically disqualified.
All CDL drivers must also prove they are medically capable of operating these large vehicles safely through a physical examination and U.S. Department of Transportation medical certificate. Main physical requirements include good hearing, 20/40 vision with or without corrective lenses, and a 70-degree field of vision in each eye.
Oklahoma CDL License Training
Once you have received the commercial driver’s manual and met these requirements, you should read through the manual from cover to cover. Study all of the highlighted sections, especially those that directly apply to the endorsements that you are seeking to your CDL license. After you feel you are well-versed in the rules and procedures of commercial driving, visit a nearby Oklahoma DPS driver’s license exam station to complete the written knowledge test. If you pass this short examination, you will officially receive an Oklahoma CDL permit to begin practicing on the road.
Although there are no federal or state laws that dictate the requirement for on-the-road commercial driving training, it is highly encouraged that all aspiring CDL drivers participate in a training program to maximize the likelihood of succeeding on the skills test. While the is an excellent place to learn the basics, you need to be professionally trained behind the wheel with real road experience. Many companies will train their employees, but some drivers can find training courses at driving schools, technical schools, and community colleges. Whichever you prefer, make sure that it meets Federal Highway Administration standards and is certified by the Professional Truck Driver Institute.
Oklahoma CDL License Process
Before the expiration date on your CDL permit, the next step is to schedule your CDL skills test at a cooperating Oklahoma CPS license exam office. When it is time for your appointment, be sure to bring your current driver’s license, physical examination form, and social security card. The Oklahoma CDL skills test involves three separate sections that must be successfully completed before the examiner.
First, in the pre-trip vehicle inspection, you will be asked to determine whether the vehicle is safe and explain to the examiner the importance of the safety check procedures. Next, in the basic vehicle control test, you will be examined behind the wheel within a closed course that is marked by traffic lanes, barriers, and cones. Finally, the on-road test covers the more complex driving procedures at intersections, multi-lane highways, curves, and railways.
After you pass the skills road test, you will receive a form from the examiner that you will need to take to a local Tag Agent. The Tag Agent will take your photograph, collect the necessary fees, and issue you the CDL license. The Oklahoma CDL license cost is $66.50 for Class A, $56.50 for Class B, $46.50 for Class C, and $4 for each endorsement fee. The CDL license will be good for four years before renewal will be necessary.